Blogging of a Better Night’s Sleep

Say what?

What if someone told you that sleeping more will help you get more work done? Ironic, right? Less hours of productivity, would normally result in less work done…

Well, according to recent studies this just may not be the case. It certainly caught businessman William Vanderbloemen’s attention.

According to the article, more sleep can not only prevent critical health problems later on, but evidently “leads to higher creativity, problem solving, and productivity”.

If this comes from Forbes, the successful business magazine, it has to be true right?

Even Brian Halligan, the CEO of Hubspot, says he has the best ideas upon drifting to bed or waking up.

This definitely makes sense. I can attest to the fact that when I am falling asleep or wake up at any time of the night, I will suddenly have a brilliant idea.

However, I am currently not a multi-milllionaire (yet, anyways) because I always forget what I thought of and never have anything near my bed to write it down on. Someday.

Also, waking up feeling rested is a guaranteed way to set you up for a productive and successful day.

Vanderbloemen suggests two ways to go about getting those extra hours of sleep: put away the technology, and sleep in 90 minute cycles.

In relation to earlier blog posts, yes, get rid of the technology right before bed. However, 90 minute sleep cycles?

I most certainly do not want to be woken up by a blaring alarm, and since I share a room with my best friend I can assure you she doesn’t either.

I am sure that college students (especially those with roommates) would be in agreement.

Also, what if you cannot fall back asleep once you’re woken up? Doesn’t this also impede on REM (rapid eye movement stage) sleep ruining dreams?

I don’t have much to dream about when I am awake, so I most certainly do not want to ruin where my mind wanders at night.

 

 

About asilbe2

Alexandra Silber is a junior mass communication and political science double major at Towson University. She works at Towson University's Academic Advising Center and is a member of the National Broadcasting Society. In her free time she likes to spend time with friends, watch Netflix, and cook. I plan to graduate in May of 2017, and be off in the real world to pursue my dreams of becoming a news reporter!!
This entry was posted in MCOM 341. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

